Watch Next Week: Key HIV Research Updates from the IAS Conference on HIV Science

Content From: HIV.govPublished: July 17, 20192 min read

Topics

IAS Logo. IAS 2019. 10th IAS Conference on HIV Science. July 21-24
Credit: International AIDS Society

Next week, HIV researchers from around the globe will be gathered at the 10th International AIDS Society Conference on HIV Science — known as IAS 2019 — in Mexico City, Mexico. HIV.gov will be sharing updates on the latest HIV research from the conference, in partnership with our federal colleagues from NIH’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. Starting Monday, July 22, we’ll be sharing Facebook Live interviews as well as posts here on the blog.

Biomedical and scientific research advances have led to the development of many successful HIV treatment regimens, prevention strategies, and have improved care for persons living with HIV. These advances are key to Ending the Epidemic: A Plan for America, the once-in-a-generation opportunity to end the epidemic.

The biennial IAS Conference on HIV Science is the largest open scientific conference on HIV and is expected to bring together more than 6,000 participants from more than 160 countries. This conference presents the latest critical advances in basic, clinical, and operational research that moves science into policy and practice. Findings from research supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) are among the more than 1,000 abstracts that will be presented.

Interviews

HIV.gov’s coverage will feature several interviews on Facebook Live, including:

  • NIH’s Dr. Anthony Fauci on Monday, July 22, 2019 at 7:30 PM (EST)/6:30 PM (CDT). He’ll discuss the observations and insights he is sharing at several conference sessions.
  • NIH’s Dr. Carl Dieffenbach about research highlights from the conference. Watch and share your questions on HIV.gov’s Facebook page on:
    • Monday, July 22, 2019 at 12:00 PM (EDT)/11:00 AM (CDT)
    • Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 12:00 PM (EDT)/11:00 AM (CDT)
    • Wednesday, July 24, 2019 at 2:00 PM (EDT)/1:00 PM (CDT)

Follow HIV.gov on Facebook or Twitter for schedule updates and reminders about these interviews. If you don’t catch a livestream, the recorded video of each interview will be available on our Facebook page after the live event. We encourage everyone to watch, react, comment, and share! As always, you don’t need a Facebook account to watch the videos, but you will need one to comment and react to them on Facebook.

Blog Posts

We will also share blog posts from IAS 2019 beginning next Tuesday. Those posts will feature our video interviews as well as research news from our federal partners. So if you miss the interviews, you can catch up on them here on the blog.

You can explore more information about IAS 2019 at the conference websiteExit Disclaimer and follow the conference via Twitter at #IAS2019.

Read more about Federal HIV research activities and the agencies involved.